INDIANA – Throughout the year in Indiana, it’s possible to hear or see fireworks, whether it is during a festival or in the distance as you travel to and fro in the evening or perhaps you and your family are having a celebration. You may not realize it, but Indiana has laws about using fireworks. In addition to the state’s laws, your town or city may also have ordinances about fireworks that you need to be aware of.
Indiana state law declares that the person who sets off fireworks could be liable for any property damage caused by the fireworks. Fireworks may be set off on the person using the fireworks’ property or on the property of someone who has given consent for the fireworks to be set off on or on a property that has been locally-mandated as a special site for the fireworks to be set off at.
Although fireworks are allowed all year long, there are parameters as to hours that they are allowed. Unless your town or city has other hours determined, on most days, you can use fireworks between 9 a.m. and 11 p.m. However, the following days have been specially designated by the State of Indiana, for the use of fireworks between the hours of 5 p.m. and two hours after sunset: June 29th through July 3rd and July 5th through July 9th of each year. The July 4th holiday hours for using fireworks is between 10 a.m. and 12 midnight.
You must be 18 years old or older to purchase fireworks. There must be someone 18 years or older present and responsible if anyone younger than 18 years old possesses or uses fireworks. If you are under 18 years of age and use fireworks without someone 18 years old or older present and responsible, you have broken the law. You must not intentionally or recklessly use fireworks in a way that causes damage or harm to a property or causes harm, injury or death to a person or persons.