School Achievements Hometown News

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) announced today the 2017-2018 Four Star Schools. Created by IDOE, the Four Star Schools designation recognizes great schools in Indiana.

“Receiving designation as a Four Star School reflects academic excellence among students, educators, and the administration,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. “I am honored to recognize these Four Star Schools for their hard work and dedication in preparing their students for a bright and prosperous future.”

The Four Star School Award has been in existence for over 30 years. To receive Four Star designation, a school must receive an “A” on the state’s A-F accountability system and have excellent ISTEP pass rates. A total of 234 schools received the award.

The following area schools received a Four Star School rating:

Allen County:

  • Bishop Dwenger, High School Fort Wayne
  • Saint Vincent DePaul School, Fort Wayne
  • Cedarville Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • Fred H Croninger Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • Blackhawk Christian Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • Concordia Lutheran High School, Fort Wayne
  • Homestead Senior High School, Fort Wayne
  • Summit Middle School, Fort Wayne
  • Woodside Middle School, Fort Wayne
  • Carroll High School, Fort Wayne
  • Maple Creek Middle School, Fort Wayne
  • Leo Elementary School, Leo
  • Leo Junior/Senior High School, Leo

DeKalb County:

  • Saint Joseph School, Garrett

Noble County:

  • East Noble High School, Kendallville
  • Saint Mary Elementary School, Avilla

Steuben County:

  • Fremont High School, Fremont